ARINC Standards

AEEC, AMC, and FSEMC, the aviation industry activities organized by ARINC IA, cooperatively establish consensus-based, voluntary aviation technical standards that no one organization could develop independently. 

  • The AEEC develops engineering and technical standards for airborne electronics of common interest to all segments of the aviation community. 
  • The AMC develops maintenance-related technical standards. 
  • The FSEMC develops technical standards related to simulation and training. 

Technical standards adopted by the AEEC, AMC, and FSEMC are published as ARINC Standards by the ARINC Industry Activities secretariat. ARINC Standards describe avionics, cabin systems, protocols, and interfaces used by more than 10,000 air transport and business aircraft worldwide. 

There are three classes of ARINC Standards: 

ARINC Characteristics: Define the form, fit, function, and interfaces of avionics, cabin systems, and aircraft networks. 

ARINC Specifications: Define the physical packaging or mounting of avionics and cabin equipment, communication, networking and data security standards, or a high-level computer language. 

ARINC Reports: Provide guidelines or general information found by the aviation industry to be preferred practices, often related to avionics maintenance and flight simulator engineering and maintenance.

ARINC Standards by Aircraft Generation
  Networked Aircraft Digital Aircraft &
Flight Simulators
Analog Aircraft &
Flight Simulators
Characteristics ARINC 700-Series ARINC 700-Series ARINC 500-Series
Specifications ARINC 800-Series

ARINC 600-Series

ARINC 400-Series

ARINC 400-Series
Reports ARINC 800-Series

ARINC 600-Series

ARINC 400-Series

ARINC 400-Series

To view our online catalog and to purchase ARINC Standards, go to the ARINC Standards Store

Report an Error in an ARINC Standard. 

Suggest a modification to an ARINC Standard.